New EU/UK firmware 1.06 for DSM520

D-Link specific stuff goes here
Splatz
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 7:51 pm

New EU/UK firmware 1.06 for DSM520

Postby Splatz » Thu Mar 27, 2008 3:33 pm

My DSM520 has been on 1.04.05eu for months. By chance I came across a post on the AVS forums that suggested that if you cannot update try the following instructions.

So now my DSM520 is running 1.06eu. I can now use ActiveTV and I can finally run the DSM520 through my AV amp using HDMI (wouldn't work on 1.04.05eu).

Splatz

<snip>

Found the solution for those that cant update.

If you cant update do this

1. Go to the Setup
2. Choose Version
3. Press the following keys on the remote: Menu-PageUp-PageUp-PageDn-1
4. Change to the correct FTP server: ftp.dlink.com/medialounge/DSM520. Mine was set to hqftp.dlink.com....
5. Check for new update
6. The DSM-520 should now find the 1.06 software and install it.

michelr
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:37 pm

Re: New EU/UK firmware 1.06 for DSM520

Postby michelr » Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:07 pm

I have the North American 1.06 firmware. I'm just wondering if anyone has the album art feature working? The release notes say they fixed this, but I tried a few songs I know have the art embedded, and it doesn't display.

Splatz
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 7:51 pm

Re: New EU/UK firmware 1.06 for DSM520

Postby Splatz » Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:23 pm

Album Art seems to work ok on the UK/EU 1.6 firmware. Hopefully someone can comment on the US 1.6 firmware to help you.

michelr
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:37 pm

Re: New EU/UK firmware 1.06 for DSM520

Postby michelr » Sun Mar 30, 2008 10:08 pm

Found it. It seems like, even though the display is 300x300, the player can't handle that size for an image. It seems like anything more than 200 pixels wide won't display (I tried 200x200 and 200x214 and it worked, but 210x210 doesn't, for example.) So I wasted a lot of time adding 300x300 art on several albums back in the 1.04 days. Oh and, since the display is still at 300x300, it resizes the image and it doesn't look all that great on screen. :(

Toxic
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:17 pm

Re: New EU/UK firmware 1.06 for DSM520

Postby Toxic » Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:29 pm

Version 1.06:

* Fixed disconnect issues with Active-TV Online on a Vista PC.
* Fixed incorrect Active-TV Online window size.
* Fixed issue with Album art not appearing for music files.
* Fixed a Live365 account issue.
* Enabled more VTuner stations (WMA stations).
* Screen saver now works in music playing page and with Active-TV Online.
* Enhanced USB support so DSM-520 can now mount multiple partitions.
* Fixed Yahoo Music UPnP server support.
* Improved playback of high bitrate Ogg music files.
* Added support for HDMI 1.3a compatibility.
* A new video seek feature was added (Press Pagedown to skip 30 seconds and Page Up to replay 15 seconds).
* Changed "WEP" text on Site Survey screen to a padlock image (as WPA and WPA2 are also supported.).
* Removed the non-functional "NTSC/ PAL" option in Settings.
* Improve jump/seek performance inside MediaMall
* Fixed ActiveTV connection issues.
* An issue with incorrect play speed for UPnP arguments was fixed.
Regards Simon
http://www.linksysinfo.org
Synology CS-407 Firmware: 2.0 - 0726 : Drives: 4 x Samsung HD501LJ SATA II 500GB RAID5 : Xbox360

saturday sun
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:22 am
AV Hardware: QNAP TS101(Twonky), Dsm330,Dsm 520

Re: New EU/UK firmware 1.06 for DSM520

Postby saturday sun » Thu May 15, 2008 11:34 am

Hi I'm desperately trying to update to 1.06eu from 1-0405eu can anyone help!! I've tried every suggestion and every trick in the book but my dsm 520 will not accept the new firmware via the us or uk ftp site or via usb. So far I've come accross 3 different verisions of the us 1.06 firmware but non with the EU suffix. Has anyone made a copy of the eu version that they could post for me. I would be extremely greatful for any suggestions or help in this matter as I'd love to be able to use the active tv server on my box and can't think of anything else I can do to get it working! Maybe I'm just being thick as others seem to have downloaded ok but I've tried everything. Many thanks in advance.

reeks
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:32 am
AV Hardware: DSM-520

Re: New EU/UK firmware 1.06 for DSM520

Postby reeks » Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:01 am

I registered here just to say thank you for the advice.. it worked a treat!

1.06eu = FINALLY the player can skip forward in one minute chunks instead of just 2x speed
I was about to bin the player for something else purely because of that annoying lack of feature

freekb
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 9:55 pm

Re: New EU/UK firmware 1.06 for DSM520

Postby freekb » Wed Jul 23, 2008 11:51 pm

I have just upgraded van EU box to US 1.05 manually and after that to 1.06 using the internet update (FTP). But still the sound in dvr ms files is really bad. Via USB and via LAN. Does anyone have a solution for this?


Return to “D-Link DSM...”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests