Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Discuss Twonky and PS3 here
Bretto
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 am
AV Hardware: Ps3, Western Digital My Book World Edition 1TB, Seagate expansion 2TB USB HD.

Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby Bretto » Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:50 am

Hey guys, Having a bit of brain fart with twonky media server which came pre-installed on my Western Digital My Book World edition 1TB Ethernet network drive, This drive itself has a USB plug on the back which is used to add another hard drive too which i have done with a seagate expansion usb external 2TB formatted NTFS which is filled with my media files, so my drama is all my media is on my seagate as the WD just serves as a media server / back up drive for pc's on my home network. So what i wanna do is to be able to access this media via my PS3 (and another wifi tv) to watch movies tv shows etc through the twonky media server. So My PS3 see's the twonky media server icon but never any content even when there is media files on the WD hdd but my question is how can i get it to see the media on my seagate external HD via twonky? its been royally doing my head in the past week and would love to be able to get this too work! Thanks in advance

PeeBee
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:16 pm
AV Hardware: Buffalo LS Pro; PS3; Samsung LE37B650

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby PeeBee » Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:41 pm

Have you set up the location of your media on the Sharing page of the Twonky Config settings?

On my Linkstation Pro NAS I have the /mnt/disk1 folder set up as my base folder for content and an attached USB drive appears as /usbdisk1 under this folder.

PB
Samsung LE37B650T2WXXU; Liteon 5055GDL+ HDD/DVD Recorder; Playstation 3; Iomega Screenplay HD 500GB; Buffalo Linkstation Pro LS-320GL (running Twonky 6.0.30, SqueezeBox Server 7.6 and acting as a Print Server)

Bretto
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 am
AV Hardware: Ps3, Western Digital My Book World Edition 1TB, Seagate expansion 2TB USB HD.

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby Bretto » Tue Sep 28, 2010 4:26 pm

Do i do that when i log into the network hard drive and go to the media sever tab where it takes me to twonky media server settings/setup? Can you elaborate a bit more on how i can setup the location in twonky? cheers

PeeBee
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:16 pm
AV Hardware: Buffalo LS Pro; PS3; Samsung LE37B650

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby PeeBee » Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:34 pm

On the Twonky settings page their should be a link to a Sharing page. On that page you set up the folders you want Twonky to scan for media. Press the Browse button next to the first empty line and navigate to the USB disk folder that you want to add.

There is an Auto-Share Removable Media option as well - if you set that then Twonky should automatically add the contents of your USB drive when you connect it.

PB
Samsung LE37B650T2WXXU; Liteon 5055GDL+ HDD/DVD Recorder; Playstation 3; Iomega Screenplay HD 500GB; Buffalo Linkstation Pro LS-320GL (running Twonky 6.0.30, SqueezeBox Server 7.6 and acting as a Print Server)

Bretto
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 am
AV Hardware: Ps3, Western Digital My Book World Edition 1TB, Seagate expansion 2TB USB HD.

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby Bretto » Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:20 am

so i ticked the auto-share removable media option, no luck :( still saying 'there are no videos/tracks/photos' etc on my ps3. and twonky wont let me browse other folders than the 3 standard share folders with come on the WD world edition drive. any ideas PB? its gotta be do-able.! just to note the seagate external which is plugged into the WD world edition is formatted NTFS

PeeBee
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:16 pm
AV Hardware: Buffalo LS Pro; PS3; Samsung LE37B650

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby PeeBee » Wed Sep 29, 2010 8:56 pm

You're going to need help from someone who knows their way around a WD MyBook WE. It seems as though the embedded twonky installation has been setup to only shows those 3 shares.

Can you try the following in your browser and post the resulting output?

http://<<WD IP address:port>>/rpc/get_all

This should output all of your config settings.

I also need to know more about the WD file structure. How does your USB appear when you connect it - as a share?

PB
Samsung LE37B650T2WXXU; Liteon 5055GDL+ HDD/DVD Recorder; Playstation 3; Iomega Screenplay HD 500GB; Buffalo Linkstation Pro LS-320GL (running Twonky 6.0.30, SqueezeBox Server 7.6 and acting as a Print Server)

Bretto
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 am
AV Hardware: Ps3, Western Digital My Book World Edition 1TB, Seagate expansion 2TB USB HD.

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby Bretto » Sun Oct 03, 2010 10:50 am

accessuser= accesspwd= autotree=3 cachedir=/DataVolume/jewab/twonkymedia.db/cache cachemaxsize= clearclientsonrestart=0 clientautoenable=1 codepage=932 compilationsdir=Compilations,Sampler contentbase=/DataVolume/Public contentdir=+M|/Shared Music,+V|/Shared Videos,+P|/Shared Pictures dbdir=/DataVolume/jewab/twonkymedia.db dyndns= enableweb=2 followlinks=0 friendlyname=Media Server httpport= httpremoteport= ignoredir=AppleDouble,AppleDB,AppleDesktop,TemporaryItems ip= ituneslib= language=en nicrestart=1 platform=arm_marvell_le_softfloat_oem rtpport= scantime=-1 startupmb=0 streambuffer=16384 uploadenabled=1 uploadmusicdir=/DataVolume/Public/Shared Music uploadpicturedir=/DataVolume/Public/Shared Pictures uploadvideodir=/DataVolume/Public/Shared Videos onlinedir=/DataVolume/jewab/twonkymedia.db/twonkymedia-server-online-data v=0 webnodes=MPV webpicturenum=0 mediastatisticsenabled=0 mediastatisticsdir=/DataVolume/jewab/twonkymedia.db/media-statistics/ defaultview=advanceddefault bgtrans=JPEG=0,MP3=0,MPEG2=0,MPEG4=0,Flash=0 bgtransdir=/DataVolume/jewab/twonkymedia.db/twonkymedia-server-transcoding-data bgtransrpcport=9030 bgtransmaxsizemb=10000 rmdrives= rmhomedrive=/DataVolume/jewab/twonkymedia.db rmautoshare=1 ssdpttl=4 checkexternalitems= maxitems=0 suppressmenu=

Bretto
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 am
AV Hardware: Ps3, Western Digital My Book World Edition 1TB, Seagate expansion 2TB USB HD.

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby Bretto » Sun Oct 03, 2010 10:55 am

yeah when its connected it just looks like a shared folder icon

PeeBee
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:16 pm
AV Hardware: Buffalo LS Pro; PS3; Samsung LE37B650

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby PeeBee » Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:15 am

Your contentbase parameter is set to /DataVolume/Public so the USB drive will only be accessible if it mounts under that Public folder when connected. Anywhere else and you won't be able to use it without changing your contentbase.

You could try this as a workaround:

Set the followlinks option to 1 (this allows Twonky to follow a shortcut in one folder into another folder/drive):

http://<<WD IP address:port>>/rpc/set_option?followlinks=1

Put a shortcut into each of your current Media shares (in the Shared Music share put a link to the Music folder on your USB drive etc).

Do a rescan of your media directories from the Twonky config pages.

PB
Samsung LE37B650T2WXXU; Liteon 5055GDL+ HDD/DVD Recorder; Playstation 3; Iomega Screenplay HD 500GB; Buffalo Linkstation Pro LS-320GL (running Twonky 6.0.30, SqueezeBox Server 7.6 and acting as a Print Server)

Bretto
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 am
AV Hardware: Ps3, Western Digital My Book World Edition 1TB, Seagate expansion 2TB USB HD.

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby Bretto » Mon Oct 04, 2010 6:48 am

ok i set the followlinks option too 1 (assuming i type this into my web browser yeah?) it just displayed a 1 on the page once id entered it. so i tried to put a shortcut to a video file from the extra HD and a shortcut to an actual folder and rescanned for media, still nothing showing on my ps3. maybe the contentbase parameter needs to be changed? i dont mind hacking into the WD my book world edition drive if need be to get this too work. what do you think PB?

PeeBee
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:16 pm
AV Hardware: Buffalo LS Pro; PS3; Samsung LE37B650

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby PeeBee » Mon Oct 04, 2010 5:35 pm

That is the best solution - widen the contentbase so that it covers your Public folder and whatever folder your USB drive appears as when connected.

PB
Samsung LE37B650T2WXXU; Liteon 5055GDL+ HDD/DVD Recorder; Playstation 3; Iomega Screenplay HD 500GB; Buffalo Linkstation Pro LS-320GL (running Twonky 6.0.30, SqueezeBox Server 7.6 and acting as a Print Server)

Bretto
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 am
AV Hardware: Ps3, Western Digital My Book World Edition 1TB, Seagate expansion 2TB USB HD.

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby Bretto » Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:02 pm

how do i do that? does seem to be anywhere ive seen to easily change that?

PeeBee
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:16 pm
AV Hardware: Buffalo LS Pro; PS3; Samsung LE37B650

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby PeeBee » Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:37 pm

You need to change the contentbase parameter. That can either be done by using an RPC call like earlier for followlinks:

http://<<WD IP address:port>>/rpc/set_option?contentbase=newContentBaseFolder

or by manually editing the twonkymedia-server.ini file in the twonky installation folder. You said you didn't mind hacking your WD and this is what you'll need to do to get direct access to this file - get telnet access to the box, find the twonky folder and then edit the file.

PB
Samsung LE37B650T2WXXU; Liteon 5055GDL+ HDD/DVD Recorder; Playstation 3; Iomega Screenplay HD 500GB; Buffalo Linkstation Pro LS-320GL (running Twonky 6.0.30, SqueezeBox Server 7.6 and acting as a Print Server)

Bretto
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 am
AV Hardware: Ps3, Western Digital My Book World Edition 1TB, Seagate expansion 2TB USB HD.

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby Bretto » Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:57 pm

now im a bit out of my depth :( any chance u can explain in a bit more detail thanks pb?

Bretto
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 am
AV Hardware: Ps3, Western Digital My Book World Edition 1TB, Seagate expansion 2TB USB HD.

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby Bretto » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:01 pm

i typed that line into my browser and the word 'newContentBaseFolder' just appeared on the screen?

PeeBee
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:16 pm
AV Hardware: Buffalo LS Pro; PS3; Samsung LE37B650

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby PeeBee » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:45 pm

Bretto wrote:i typed that line into my browser and the word 'newContentBaseFolder' just appeared on the screen?


:shock: <<bangs head against wall>> :shock:

You have to replace newContentBaseFolder with the path you want to use as your new content base, such as /DataVolume!

Sorry, but getting Twonky to operate correctly on some hardware involves having a level of understanding of the operating system that hardware runs on. As neither of us seem to have that level of knowledge of your WD NAS I think I best leave it there before we do too much damage.

Is Twonky still working as before now that you have set the contentbase to a non-existent folder? If not just reset it back to what it was before by typing:

http://<<WD IP address:port>>/rpc/set_option?contentbase=/DataVolume/Public

PB
Samsung LE37B650T2WXXU; Liteon 5055GDL+ HDD/DVD Recorder; Playstation 3; Iomega Screenplay HD 500GB; Buffalo Linkstation Pro LS-320GL (running Twonky 6.0.30, SqueezeBox Server 7.6 and acting as a Print Server)

Bretto
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 am
AV Hardware: Ps3, Western Digital My Book World Edition 1TB, Seagate expansion 2TB USB HD.

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby Bretto » Thu Oct 07, 2010 12:06 am

haha sorry champ, sometimes i can be a little incompetent when it comes to commands, can i rpc call to set the usb drive as the content base? it appears in windows explorer named as usb1-1share1 folder.

PeeBee wrote:
Bretto wrote:i typed that line into my browser and the word 'newContentBaseFolder' just appeared on the screen?


:shock: <<bangs head against wall>> :shock:

You have to replace newContentBaseFolder with the path you want to use as your new content base, such as /DataVolume!

Sorry, but getting Twonky to operate correctly on some hardware involves having a level of understanding of the operating system that hardware runs on. As neither of us seem to have that level of knowledge of your WD NAS I think I best leave it there before we do too much damage.

Is Twonky still working as before now that you have set the contentbase to a non-existent folder? If not just reset it back to what it was before by typing:

http://<<WD IP address:port>>/rpc/set_option?contentbase=/DataVolume/Public

PB

PeeBee
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:16 pm
AV Hardware: Buffalo LS Pro; PS3; Samsung LE37B650

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby PeeBee » Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:58 pm

You need to know how the USB disk appears in the Linux filesystem on the NAS. For example, my USB drive is a windows share called usbdisk1 but it is /mnt/usbdisk1 in the filesystem on my NAS. My internal drive is /mnt/disk1 so I set contentbase to /mnt and I can then see disk1 and usbdisk1.

You need to work out the equivalent on your WD and for that you need telnet into it and examine the file structure, or find out the file structure from someone else who can do that.

Here it suggests that your internal shares are in /shares/internal which would imply that external drive shares are in /shares/external so try running the rpc call and set the contentbase to /shares and then see if that gives you access to both internal and external shares. You'll need to restart the Twonky server from the cofig pages after changing the parameter.

Or set it to / and then you can navigate the whole file structure from the Browse buttons on the Sharing config page and get a better idea of what to use to access your external drive.

PB
Samsung LE37B650T2WXXU; Liteon 5055GDL+ HDD/DVD Recorder; Playstation 3; Iomega Screenplay HD 500GB; Buffalo Linkstation Pro LS-320GL (running Twonky 6.0.30, SqueezeBox Server 7.6 and acting as a Print Server)

Bretto
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:33 am
AV Hardware: Ps3, Western Digital My Book World Edition 1TB, Seagate expansion 2TB USB HD.

Re: Twonky with PS3 , and 2 hard drives

Postby Bretto » Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:24 pm

ok no probs, ill give that a go and let you know how i get along cheers


Return to “PS3”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests